

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Wednesday, May 4, 2022

Contact: Dejah Williams, MWC Political Director: dwilliams@dclabor.org

Metropolitan Washington Labor, AFL-CIO Council Releases Endorsements for 2022

On Monday, May 2, 2022, a majority of the delegates affiliated with the Metropolitan Washington Labor Council, AFL-CIO, voted to endorse candidates in the upcoming elections throughout our jurisdiction.

The council represents a diverse coalition of nearly 200 affiliated unions representing over 150,000 rank and file union members across the metropolitan area working in industries from communication, administrative, retail, construction, healthcare, education, government, hospitality, and entertainment.

"On behalf of the Metropolitan Washington Council AFL-CIO, I am pleased to share the list of candidates who have gained the endorsement of our delegates. We were presented with an incredible pool of candidates who share our values and commitment to working people this election cycle. Our endorsements represent a list of experienced leaders who successfully kept our members employed and safe throughout the pandemic and new leaders with a vision to govern us as we recover from the pandemic," stated Dyana Forester, President of the Metropolitan Washington Council AFL-CIO.

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA ENDORSEMENTS

Mayor: Muriel Bowser
Council Chair: Phil Mendelson
Attorney General: No Recommendation
At-Large: No Recommendation
Ward 1: Brianne Nadeau; Ward 3: No Recommendation

Ward 5: Zachary Parker; Ward 6: **Charles Allen**

PRINCE GEORGE'S COUNTY ENDORSEMENTS

County Executive: Angela Alsobrooks
State's Attorney: Aisha Braveboy

At-Large: Stanford Fraser; Calvin Hawkins Jr.

District 1: Tom Dernoga; District 2: Wanika Fisher; District 3: Eric Olson District 4: No Recommendation; District 5: Jolene Ivey; District 6: Wala Blegay;

District 7: Krystal Oriadha; District 8: Edward P. Burroughs

MONTGOMERY COUNTY ENDORSEMENTS

County Executive: Marc Elrich
State's Attorney: John McCarthy

At-Large: Laurie Anne Sayles, Tom Hucker, Will Jawando, Evan Glass
District 4: Kate Stewart; District 5: Daniel Koroma; District 6: Natali Fani Gonzalez
District 7: Dawn Luedtke